Thesis Questions...
Was the United States' decision to drop the atomic bomb justified?
- If so, then dropping the atomic bomb was a justified act of war.
- If not, then dropping the atomic bomb was a crime against humanity.
Guiding Questions
4. Who was in opposition of the use of the bomb?
5. What are some positive outcomes of using the atomic bomb on Japan?
6. On the other hand what are some negative outcomes that arose after the atomic
bomb's use on Japan?
7. What would have happened if the atomic bomb had never been dropped on Japan?
8. How would the outcome of WWII have changed if the bomb had not been dropped?
Research Guide
Welcome! Here you will find a guide to doing research, gathering and using evidence, and creating arguments for the mock trial.
Your research notes can be found in the Research Worksheet Packet (Phase 1 and 2). It can also be found on the E-board.
The quality of your research will make up a large part of your grade. Remember to do your own work, create clear and thorough notes relevant to your topic, paraphrase (don't plagiarize!), and cite your information sources.
Encyclopedia Articles
Note: You will need the Encyclopedia Britannica password to access from home.
Database Articles/Suggested Key Words for Searching
Note: You will need Gale Student Resource Center password to access from home.
When you're searching databases, it's important to choose effective search words. Here are some that might help. Click on the links to read articles in the Gale Student Resource Database (you will need the Gale password to access these links from outside of school). NOTE: If a link is not working, copy the key word you want to search, then paste it into the search box in the Gale Student Resource Center.
Battle of Guadalcanal, 1942-1943
International Committee of the Red Cross
Japanese American Internment, 1942-1945
Radiation Injuries (or Radiation Sickness)
Sino-Japanese Conflict, 1937-1945
Works Cited Worksheet
Students need to cite all sources.Download this Works Cited worksheet to help you cite correctly. Fill in the worksheet as completely as you can for each source you've used. If you need help, please contact Mrs. Barthelmes.
Please save paper! Instead of printing out the whole worksheet, either print out only the pages you need or delete the parts you don't need before printing.
What Kind of Source?
All the boxes on this site are color-coded. That is to tell you what kind of sources you're looking at: databases, Web sites, books, or e-books.
Green boxes=Help guides, guiding questions, instructions, or tips from your teachers.
Red boxes=Encyclopedia articles. (*password required for home use.)
Blue boxes=Databases. (*password required for home use.)
Orange boxes=Web sites.
Black boxes=Books. (Most are available only in print, on the library cart. But some may have a GoogleBooks preview available online. If so, a link to the book preview is hyperlinked to the book.)
Gray boxes=e-books. (*password required for home use.)
*Please note that e-books and databases, when accessed from home, require a password. The passwords sheet is at the back of your packet. Ask for one at the library if you don't have a passwords sheet.

Loading...
